Bio-Data of Dr. Arun Kumar Bhaduri

Dr. Arun Kumar Bhaduri obtained his B.Tech. (Honours) in 1983 and Ph.D. in 1992 both in Metallurgical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. He joined the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre’s Training School at Trombay in 1983, and was awarded the Homi Bhabha Medal for being the Overall Topper of its 27th Batch. In 1984, he joined the Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research at Kalpakkam, where he is presently Distinguished Scientist & Director, Metallurgy & Materials Group. He is also a Senior Professor of the Homi Bhabha National Institute. He received the Humboldt Research Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany in 1994 and carried out post-doctoral research in University of Stuttgart, Germany for 2 years. He anchors the development of materials and their fabrication technologies for Indian programmes on sodium-cooled fast reactors, fusion reactors and advanced ultra supercritical thermal power. He specialises in the field of materials joining, and has to his credit more than 210 journal publications, 350 conference presentations and 2 international patents.
For his contributions to the science and technology of welding and hardfacing, he has been awarded the National Metallurgists’ Day Metallurgist of the Year Award (2003) by Ministry of Steel, Government of India; the Homi Bhabha Science & Technology Award (2002) by Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India; INS Gold Medal Award (2002) by Indian Nuclear Society; VASVIK Award (2005) by Vividhlaxi Audyogik Samshodhan Vikas Kendra, DAE Group Achievement Award nine times during 2006 to 2014 with three of them as Group Leader, and Sir L.P. Misra Memorial Lecture Award (2010) and IIW-India Golden Jubilee Welding Ratna Award, (2016) by Indian Institute of Welding. He was elected as Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE) in 2007. He is also a Fellow of the Indian Institute of Metals (FIIM) and the Indian Institute of Welding (FIIW). He has received the various Best Paper Awards from The Indian Institute of Welding many times.
At the International Institute of Welding, he the Vice-Chairman of Commission–II on “Arc Welding and Filler Metals” (from 2014); Member, Editorial Board of Welding in the World (from 2008), and has been Member, Technical Management Board (2007-2010). He is also Member, Editorial Board of Journal of Materials Processing Technology (from 2007), International Journal of Nuclear Energy and Indian Journal of Materials Science (from 2013) and Indian Welding Journal (from 2002). He has been Chairman, Technical Committee (2005-2008) and Vice-President (2008-2012) of Indian Institute of Welding, and Editor of Transactions of the Indian Institute of Metals (1992–2003).

Back to Home

Site Owned & Maintained by:
Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research,
Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India.